Amidst the Doubt

Somewhere
There you stay
With your new wife and your other kid
I’m supposed to call you Dad
But somehow, that just doesn’t seem right
We talk formally
Father and daughter?
No
Business associates seems more appropriate

Yet
In the midst of all that
I still hope

Hope that someday you’ll see
Hope that someday you’ll notice
There’s another kid in the picture
She’s begging for you to listen
Begging for you to see

You avert your eyes to your sin
You carry on as if I don’t exist
No calls on my birthday
No visits or I love you’s
Only phone calls
Every other year

Yet
In the midst of all that
I still hope

2 thoughts on “Amidst the Doubt”

Leave a Reply

